Smarties Cookies

It’s been a while since I’ve made or shared a cookie recipe and with all my cupcake experiments, I’ve really been craving cookies lately.

This is a really good cookie base recipe that I’ve been making for a while. It’s based on my favourite chewy chocolate chip cookie recipe but it calls for softened butter instead of melted thus making a more fluffier cookie as opposed to the denser, chewier version.

I adore these!

​​​

It’s a very simple recipe that is made just like any other typical cookie dough recipe. Butter and sugar is creamed together, lots of soft brown sugar of course, then the egg, vanilla and dry mix. I opted to use Smarties here but M&Ms or any other chocolate or candy can be used instead.

I do love baking with Smarties, just like with these cupcakes because they remind me of my childhood 😀 growing up, Smarties were super popular in those little tubes with their different coloured tops, so much fun 😉 I went through a phase recently where I was really craving them all the time! these cookies are a delightful way to incorporate them.


The cookies themselves are soft, buttery and super delicious! it’s such a wonderful base for any addition at all like toffee, nuts, chocolate chips, dried fruit, caramel candies etc the list is endless! 😀


Enjoy my friends :-* and remember to tag me @dutchbakerblog on Instagram, Facebook or Twitter 😉
Smarties Cookies 

Makes 12 – 15 cookies.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Cup softened butter
  • 1/2 Cup soft brown sugar
  • 1/4 Cup white sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/3 Cups flour *
  • 1/2 Teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 Teaspoon cornstarch/cornflour
  • 1/2 – 3/4 Teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 Cup Smarties

Method

  1. In a large bowl, cream the butter and both sugars together until light and fluffy.
  2. Add in the egg and vanilla and whisk well.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, cornstarch and salt until well combined. Add this dry mix to the butter mix in two batches and whisk until *just* combined. Fold in the Smarties.
  4. Cover cookie dough with plastic wrap and chill in the fridge for 2 hours or overnight.
  5. Preheat oven to 170C. Divide the cookie dough into balls and place on a baking tray lined with baking paper. Flatten balls slightly if desired.
  6. Bake for 8 – 11 minutes until the edges are lightly golden in colour and middle is just barely set. Cool cookies on baking tray for 10 minutes before moving to wire rack to cool completely.

SStore cookies in an air tight container for up to one week.

*For a thicker cookie add 1 1/2 cups flour instead of 1 1/3 cups flour.

Recipe by the dutch baker.

7 thoughts on “Smarties Cookies

  1. Oh how yummy….
    Can I add more smarties? Joking, but I will suggest for me to at least have a cup of smarties on hand and then I can ‘test’ (eat) about 1/4 cup of smarties, just to make sure they taste great…and then can add 3/4 cup into my cookie dough….
    Linda, I love love love smarties, and have not bought or had them in so long, This is going to be a great cookie recipe to make. 🙂 x

    Like

    1. Yay I’m really glad you’re a fellow Smarties lover :-* although have you noticed that the taste has slightly changed over the years? could be just me! they are a really fun addition to any cookie and this is such an easy and basic cookie dough. Thanks for the lovely comment. Wish you a wonderful day hun xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

