Heart Warming Soft And Fluffy Buttery Vanilla Cupcakes (Favourite Go-to Recipe)

Yes that’s a long title but it’s amazing how many times people can fall in love 😍😍

Let me just jump right into this and start by saying that these are the most amazing vanilla cupcakes I have EVER eaten! πŸ˜„ yep! bold statement but honestly..I have no words to describe these little cottony cloud-like cakes. Biting into one literally takes you away to buttery vanilla heaven πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹

I made these on a whim in between all my chocolate donuts cravings and fresh bread making. I’ve actually been working on these cupcakes this past month and when I made this specific batch, they were an obvious winner. I already have a favourite vanilla cupcake recipe which I adore but I wanted to switch it up a bit and make them fluffier. Those cupcakes are slightly more tender, being a little bit denser, but very delicious. Today’s cupcakes have that same deliciousness but are outright fluffy. Like pure soft fluffiness here 😊 

I used the standard creaming method with these. You need to make sure to beat the butter and sugars until really pale and fluffy. It makes such a soft and fluffy cupcake, I love it! 

As a dairy, I use a mix of sour cream and milk which is my favourite for most of my cakes but you can use buttermilk in the place of these two πŸ˜‰ it is amazing as well 😊

The aroma these cupcakes relased as they were baking and then cooling was incredible! It was so hard to wait for them to be frosted with my favourite vanilla frosting and ready to eat πŸ˜‰ my brother ate one warm and declared it the best vanilla cupcake and said that they were very “heart warming” πŸ˜‰ he’s a hard core vanilla lover so his opinion really matters to me here. 

I’m so happy with how these cupcakes turned out and I cannot wait for you all to try it!

Update:

I’ve been re-making these cupcakes again and again to make sure they are perfect for everyone who makes them and here are my experiences:

*Please use best quality butter you can find, this really makes a difference.

*The best sugar for these is a fine sugar like castor sugar. If you can’t find then any white sugar is ok but I’ve found that the amount written below is the best for both texture and flavour. If you’ve made them with less then please continue to do so how you like. You can use anywhere from 2/3 to 3/4 cups sugar.

Don’t forget to tag me @dutchbakerblog on Instagram, Facebook or Twitter with all your dutch baker bakes πŸ’›

Best Ever Vanilla Cupcakes  

Makes 12 cupcakes.

Ingredients 

  • 1 1/2 cups (190gms) minus 3 tablespoons*
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch/cornflour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup (150gms) softened butter
  • 3/4 cup (150gms) castor sugar** (see notes below)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup (60gms) sour cream
  • 1/4 cup (60mls) milk

Vanilla Frosting

  • 1/2 cup (100gms) salted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups (190gms) icing sugar
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons cream or milk
  • 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract, to taste

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 170C. Line a muffin tray with cupcake cups.
  2. In a bowl, whisk together the flour, cornstarch, baking powder and soda and salt until well combined. Set aside.
  3. In a mixing bowl, whisk butter for about a minute until creamy. Add the sugar and whisk until paled and fluffy, 3 – 4 minutes. (See here for tips on how to cream butter and sugar).
  4. Add in eggs one at a time whisking well in between each addition. Add in the vanilla extract.
  5. Add in about a third of the flour mix then the sour cream followed by another third of the flour mix then the milk and finally the last of the flour mix. Whisk only until *just* combined. Batter is slightly thick.
  6. Divide batter between cupcake cups and bake until cooked through and a toothpick comesout cleanor with a few moist crumbs, about 15 – 17 minutes. Remove cupcakes from tray and cool on a wire rack before frosting.

For the frosting

  1. Whisk butter on high speed until very creamy and pale in colour, about 5 minutes.
  2. Add in the icing sugar in 1/2 cup increments whisking for about 30 seconds in between each addition.
  3. Add in cream until desired consistency is reached then vanilla extract to taste. Whip frosting for another 40 – 60 seconds until fluffy.
  4. Frost cooled cupcakes and store in an air tight container at room temperature for up to 3 days.

*Measure 1 1/2 cups of flour then remove 3 tablespoons. Add in the cornstarch/cornflour and whisk. This makes the cupcakes super soft and fluffy.

**I have found that white or granulated sugar comes in all different sized granules and the best for great texture is castor/super fine sugar. Any white sugar will work fine so I’ve adjusted the amounts to make it more accurate. You can use up anywhere from 2/3 to 3/4 cup/150gms sugar if you like a sweeter cupcake.

Recipe by the dutch baker.

15 thoughts on “Heart Warming Soft And Fluffy Buttery Vanilla Cupcakes (Favourite Go-to Recipe)

  1. Oh yum, these will be perfect for the weekend…(rephrase….perfect for today πŸ™‚ )
    There is always something so satisfying about a vanilla cupcake, and these look so more-ish πŸ™‚ Love it !!! Have an amazing weekend my friend. x

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I made these πŸ™‚ and they were lovely. Using the 1 1/2 cups flour minus 2 tablespoons and adding the cornflour is amazing, and is a fairly new concept for me. This recipe made a really nice soft cupcake. We all thoroughly enjoyed them, and as guessed they didn’t even last the day ! Thanks for a beautiful recipe. x

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh wow that’s awesome Lynne! 😊 I’m soo happy you made them and even more happy that you and your family enjoyed them! πŸ˜„ yay this totally made my day! Yep the flour measurements are a bit weird but it’s sort of like a substitute for cake flour which produces a lighter cake but I love the addition cornstarch because it makes everything sooo soft! So it’s a neat trick. Thank you so much for trying these out and the great feedback ❀ your constant support of me and my crazy baking addiction means the world to me πŸ˜™ xx

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jenny πŸ™‚ so sorry for the late reply, my internet was down. It is all purpose flour πŸ™‚ It is sort of like a substitute for cake flour but I find it softer this way using cornstarch. If you’d like to use cake flour then leave out the cornstarch and use 1 1/2 cups cake flour instead of the all purpose flour and cornstarch πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Hi Mollie 😊 thank you so much for checking out my blog and the follow. I’ve followed you back too πŸ˜„ so sorry for the late response, my internet has been down!

      This is one of my fave cupcakes ever, like you said it is hard to find a great recipe and I love this one πŸ˜„
      thanks again for the sweet comments πŸ’™

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These look perfect. I can see why they are your go-to recipe. I too, have a go-to vanilla cupcake recipe… very similar to yours but no corn starch… I am curious to try yours!

    Like

    1. Hello 😊 I apologize for the late reply! Thank you! I do love a good vanilla cupcake and the addition of cornstarch makes these soo unbelievably soft its crazy, you should try it!

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving your lovely comment πŸ’œ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

