The Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie (1st Blog Anniversary)

Everybody has their own version of the perfect chocolate chip cookie. This is mine πŸ˜„

Perfectly crispy on the edges, super chewy, incredibly moist, ultra soft and crazy delicious! 😍 these are my absolute favourite πŸ˜‹

Before we get into the whole cookie making business, I would just like to take a moment to thank you all. Today marks one year since I published my first post here on my little blog, I’ve had my Facebook page opened for almost 3 years now but my blog…it’s like my own little baking journal. And I love it ❀ what makes it so special is all of the wonderful people I have “met” along the way. It’s been so much fun, gaining all these new experiences and emotions. I absolutely love it when you guys make and enjoy any one of my recipes and it totally brightens my whole day when I get that positive feedback 😊 

Since starting my blog, it’s been so much easier for everyone to find my recipes and save them. Thanks to all the love, my very first vanilla cake is now on the first page of Google if someone is looking for a moist/soft/fluffy vanilla cake, it’s also one of the top searched recipes, that is soo freakin’ awesome you guys! 😎 

My Krispy Kreme donuts recipe has recieved thousands of views with tons of great feedback and pictures from you. My super easy, one rise cinnamon rolls are one of the most popular recipes of success with everyone and both these banana muffins and peach crumb muffins are in the top ten posts of the year! πŸ˜„

Thank you all for the continued love and support. I so appreciate all of the sweet comments and feedback and I am so grateful to all of you who have have been here and continue to show love and support for me and my crazy baking obsession. I love you guys ❀

Now enough with all that mushy stuff! Let’s talk COOKIES πŸ˜‹

Extra chewy, yes still super soft, but super duper chewy so if this is the type of cookie you like then you have to make these! like right now! πŸ˜„

The trick to getting these cookies so chewy is to use melted butter instead of softened/creamed butter. Using melted butter makes the cookies slightly more dense with a tighter crumb therefore producing a chewier cookie.

When you melt the butter, make sure you don’t melt it until it’s all completely melted. Haha could I say melted more in one sentence πŸ˜‚ You need to take the butter off the heat when there’s still chunks of butter.

Take it off the heat then whisk until all of the butter has melted and is smooth. This ensures that the butter stays thick and full instead of thinning out.

Pour the butter into a bowl and immediately add in both sugars. You must use soft brown sugar here because that adds to the chewiness and overall softness of the cookies as well as keeping them super moist. I used dark brown sugar for extra richness and flavour but light brown sugar is great too πŸ˜‰

I like adding the sugars when the butter is still hot because that sort of heats the sugars and helps give the cookies that appealing crinkly top.

Now comes the only part where you have to whisk. You need to whisk the butter and sugars until all the brown sugar lumps have disappeared and the mixture is smooth and has slightly thickened. You will know when it’s ready when you can see swirls lines from your whisk, it only takes about a minute or so of fast whisking.

Add in the egg and vanilla, whisk until smooth and you’re pretty much done!

Just add in the dry ingredients and fold in the chocolate CHUNKS. Yea you need to use chocolate chunks here, chocolate chips will of course work too but chocolate chunks make a world of a difference. And none of that pre-chunked chocolate, get your own good quality chocolate, I like semi sweet, and chop it yourself πŸ˜‰

Then you have to chill the cookie dough. Yeah I know that sucks but chilling is mandatory here. It really helps give cookies their shape and bakes a perfectly compact cookie.

In this case, I like my cookies slightly on the thinner side so I flatten the cookies slightly before baking but if you like a thicker cookie then leave the dough as balls.

You can see here the difference of the cookies. I flattened one cookie (top right) and left the other (bottom left) more rounded. Both ways are delicious! πŸ˜‹

These truly are the best chewy chocolate chip cookies and I cannot wait for you guys to try them πŸ˜‰

Remember to tag or hashtag me #dutchbakerblog on Instagram, Facebook or Twitter with all your dutch baker bakes πŸ’™

Best Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes 12 cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (100gms) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup (100gms) light or dark soft brown sugar*
  • 1/4 cup (50gms) white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/3 cups + 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cornstarch/corn flour
  • 1/2 – 3/4 teaspoon salt**
  • 1 cup (200gms) dark, semi sweet or milk chocolate

Method

  1. In a saucepan or microwave safe bowl, melt butter until it is about halfway melted. Remove from heat and whisk until all the butter is melted and mixture is smooth.
  2. Pour butter into bowl and immediately add in both sugars. Whisk fast for about a minute or until all the brown sugar lumps have disappeared and mixture is smooth and feels slightly thickened.
  3. Add in egg and vanilla and whisk smooth.
  4. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, cornstarch and salt and add to batter using a wooden spoon to stir it in.
  5. Stir in flour mix until *almost* combined leaving a few streaks. Add in the chocolate chunks and fold until just combined. Do not over mix.
  6. Cover cookie dough with plastic wrap and chill for a minimum of 2 hours, preferably overnight.
  7. Once chilled, preheat oven to 160C/325F. Allow cookie dough to warm about 20 minutes or until you are able to scoop balls of dough. Roll the cookie dough with your hands, the heat will soften the dough even more.
  8. Place balls on a cookie sheet lined with baking paper and flatten slightly if desired. Bake for 13 – 15 minutes or until the edges start to appear golden brown in colour. The middle will appear under cooked which is fine. Remove from the oven and leave cookies on the cookie sheet for minimum 15 minutes, they will continue cooking. Remove to wire rack to cool completely.
  9. Store in an air tight container for up to one week.

*Brown sugar is a must here. I like dark brown sugar because it really gives a wonderful deep flavour and richness.

**Salt can either make or break a cookie and you always need more than you think. If using dark or semi sweet chocolate then use 1/2 teaspoon salt but if using milk chocolate then use 3/4 teaspoon salt.

Recipe by the dutch baker.

11 thoughts on “The Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie (1st Blog Anniversary)

  1. Wow ! Congratulations on your first blog anniversary ! Can you believe that it has been a year already. I am so happy that we have connected as I absolutely love your recipes. Here is to many many more years of blogging my friend. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lynne 😊 thank you so much for all your kind words and sweet comments. You are one of the amazing people I was referring to in the post saying how awesome it is to have known you and had the privilege of calling you my friend. I’m so happy you are enjoying my recipes and always grateful for the great feedback πŸ˜„ I can’t believe how fast time has gone but I’m excited to see what this next year brings! thank you again for being so lovely ❀❀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

