Banana Walnut Cake With Brown Sugar Frosting

I’ve been making banana cakes for ages, mostly because I always have bananas on hand 😄 but really because they are one of my favourite cakes! 

This is one I’ve been working on for the past couple of months, it has surely become my favourite banana cake recipe and one that I’ll be using for years to come 😍

I actually use this recipe to make a layer cake as the batter is wonderful and the perfect amount but this time I made it differently and frosted it with brown sugar frosting and walnuts. Yum! 

Banana cakes are one of my faves because they can be frosted with ANYTHING 😉 I’ve already got this delicious cake and these banana chocolate cupcakes made with different frostings and I’ve also made one with peanut butter. So so good! 

I’ve been baking this cake over and over again, just to make sure it’s perfect and it truly is! 😊 I mean it’s soft, it’s fluffy, it’s tender, it’s super moist, it’s just outright delicious! The flavour 😍 oh my god is undeniably amazing!

Definitely my favourite banana cake 😄

This cake is very simple to make. Basic cake ingredients, butter, sugar, some oil for extra tenderness and moisture, lots of banana and a mix of sour cream and buttermilk. I’ve found that these ingredients, with the amounts I’ve listed, produced the most wonderful texture and flavour. As a buttermilk substitute, instead of using the vinegar/milk mixture, I recommend adding more sour cream and whole milk. I’ll add all the amounts and directions below. During testing, I found that this alternative is better than the vinegar/milk one. I still got that lovely cake texture that pretty much sums up the entire cake! 😊

As for the frosting, I was initially going to make brown butter frosting instead. How I wound up making brown sugar frosting is beyond me 😂 

It’s a very simple recipe, where I adapt this basic buttercream into a brown sugar buttercream. You just whip the butter and soft brown sugar, has to be very fresh so it’s soft and doesn’t get grainy, until creamy. Then add in some cream and whisk until fluffy before adding in the icing sugar and the rest of the cream. Simple 😄 

I topped the cake with chopped walnuts which enhanced the frosting flavours and just completed everything. It was such a fabulous addition, it really is a must! 😊

I really hope you guys try this cake, even if you just top it with cream cheese frosting or regular buttercream. It’s amazing 😋

Remember to tag @dutchbakerblog or hashtag #dutchbakerblog on Instagram, Facebook or Twitter so I can see your dutch baker bakes 💛

Banana Walnut Cake With Brown Sugar Frosting 

Makes a 2 layered 9 inch or 3 layered 8 inch cake, a 9 x 13 inch cake or about 26 – 30 cupcakes.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups (375gms) flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • Optional: 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 1/4 cups (250gms) white sugar
  • 1/2 cup (100gms) soft brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup (100gms) softened butter
  • 1/4 cup (60mls) oil
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup (250mls) buttermilk*
  • 1/2 cup (120mls) sour cream**
  • 1 1/2 cups (3 – 4 bananas) over ripe, spotted bananas, mashed well
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Brown sugar frosting

  • 1 cup (200gms) softened salted butter (or add salt to taste)
  • 1/3 cup (65ms) soft brown sugar***
  • 3 cups (375gms) icing sugar
  • 2 – 4 tablespoons cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Chopped walnuts for topping and/or sides of cake

Method 

  1. Preheat oven to 180C. Grease and flour cake pans.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and soda, salt and optional cinnamon. Add in the sugars and whisk until well combined.
  3. Add in the butter and whisk until all the flour mix is moistened and mixture resembles coarse sand.
  4. Add in the sour cream, 1/4 cup/60mls of the buttermilk and oil, whisk to incorporate then the eggs one at a time. Once all the eggs are added in, whisk on medium high speed for 1 1/2 minutes to build the cakes structure. Batter will be very thick and smooth.
  5. Add in the rest of the buttermilk, vanilla and bananas and whisk until everything is well combined, about 45 – 60 seconds. Batter will be slightly thick, creamy and smooth.
  6. Divide cakes in cake pans and cook until baked through and a toothpick comes out clean or with a few moist crumbs attached. Cool cakes in pans for 10 – 15 minutes then place on a wire rack to cool completely before frosting.

For the frosting

  1. Whip butter for about 2 minutes until creamy. Add in brown sugar and whip until very soft and fluffy, another 2 to 3 minutes.
  2. Add in about a tablespoons of the cream and whisk then add in the icing sugar and the rest of the cream. Whisk buttercream on high for a couple of minutes until smooth and fluffy.

Frost cooled cake and top with chopped walnuts. Store in an air tight container for up to 3 days at room temperature.

*If you can’t find buttermilk, add an extra 1/4 cup sour cream and whisk with 3/4 cups/190mls milk. So you would use 3/4 cups sour cream and 3/4 cups milk for the recipe.

**If you can’t find sour cream then thick Greek yogurt can be used instead.

***Make sure your brown sugar is fresh and soft so that it creams well into the frosting without becoming grainy.

Click here for my favourite brown butter cream cheese frosting.

Recipe by the dutch baker.

Other banana recipe favourites:

Large bakery style banana muffins

Scrumptious banana cake bars

Banana Apple Muffins

8 thoughts on “Banana Walnut Cake With Brown Sugar Frosting

  1. This sounds lovely LInda. I really need to branch out and get more adventurous with banana’s. I tend to only make banana bread and banana muffins !!! I love the walnuts added and the brown sugar frosting must be amazing ! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

