Extra Chewy M&M CookiesΒ 

So pretty and colourful πŸ˜„ I don’t know what it is about cookies but every now and then I’ll get into a cookie craze where I’ll just make cookies back to back for daaayyyysss πŸ˜³πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹

I made these cookies as I was trying to create a classic chocolate chip cookie recipe and I was out of chocolate chips so I threw in some M&Ms and peanuts too! Just for good measure 😍

These baked out really good! I made this specific batch thick because I wanted them to be big, bakery style cookies with super soft centres. Generally I like to flatten them slightly before baking because I like really nice crispy edged cookies but that’s a personal preference, it works both ways even without flattening.

I’ve been experimenting between the differences of creaming the butter for cookies versus melting the butter which is usually the way to get extra chewy cookies, and I’ve realized that there is quite a difference in both texture and flavour. Melting the butter produces a denser and therefore chewier texture with an all around softness to the cookie. Creaming the butter gives the cookies are more classic texture with super soft centres and slightly crispy edges. Both are fantastic πŸ˜‰

In today’s recipe, I stuck with melting the butter but this time I upped the brown sugar because I wanted a deeper flavour. Added some M&Ms to the batter and like most delicious cookie doughs, these need to chill for a bit before baking. This enhances the flavour as well as keeping sure the cookies hold their shapes and has good body. It is an important step and I highly recommend it even with recipes that don’t require chilling. 

Such a delicious and friendly cookie. I really hope you guys enjoy them πŸ˜‹

Remember to tag me @dutchbakerblog or hashtag #dutchbakerblog with your pics so I can see all your dutch baker bakes πŸ’š

M&M Cookies

Makes 9 giant cookies or 12 medium-large cookies.

Update: I’ve started using 1 1/3 cups + 1 tablespoon flour instead of the original 1 1/2 cups to make the cookies even chewier πŸ˜‰

Ingredients 

  • 1/2 cup (100gms) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup (100gms) soft light brown sugar (dark brown sugar is okay too)
  • 1/4 cup (50gms) raw or white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/3 cups + 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon corn flour/cornstarch
  • 1/2 – 3/4 teaspoon salt**
  • 1 cup mini or normal sized M&Ms
  • Optional: 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Method 

  1. In a saucepan  (or microwave save bowl) melt butter until it has almost melted, leaving some chunks of butter. Take off heat and whisk until the rest of the butter is all melted and smooth. Pour into bowl and immediately add in both sugars, while butter is still warm, and whisk fast for about a minute until there are no more lumps of brown sugar and mixture has very slightly thickened and paled in colour.
  2. Add in the egg and vanilla and whisk until just combined, about 10 seconds.
  3. Add in the flour, baking soda, cornflour and salt and whisk until just incorporated. Switch to a wooden spoon and fold until the flour mix is just barely mixed in. Add in the M&Ms and fold until combined.
  4. Cover dough with plastic wrap and chill for a minimum of 2 hours, preferably overnight.
  5. Preheat oven to 160C. If you’ve chilled the dough overnight then allow to warm up to room temperature for about 1/2 an hour or just until you are able to scoop out dough. Using your hands shape into balls. The heat from your hands will soften them. Place on a baking tray lined with baking paper and flatten slightly with your palm if desired. Push in some M&Ms and/or chocolate chips into the tops of each ball.
  6. Bake for 10 – 12 minutes, depending on how big you made the cookies. I recommend baking 1 cookie first to see how it bakes so you know whether you need to make adjustments. Make sure you do not over bake. Cookies should appear very soft and undercooked in the middle but slightly golden at the edges. Remove tray from the oven and let cookies cool for 10 – 15 minutes before removing to continue cooling on wire racks.
  7. Store cookies in an air tight container for up to 1 week.

*For a deeper flavour, use 1/2 cup/100gms dark brown sugar and 1/4 cup/50gms white or raw sugar.

    **I don’t like sweet cookies so I use 3/4 teaspoon salt to balance out the sugar. You can use less if you do like sweeter cookies but no less than 1/2 teaspoon or the cookies will be overly sweet.

    Recipe by the dutch baker.

    4 thoughts on “Extra Chewy M&M CookiesΒ 

    1. These look fun. I love all the different colours. Great how you improvised with the m&m’s and peanuts. Now to be honest if I were baking with M&M’s I would need double the amount of M&M’s as I would easily eat half of them, there and then! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

    Leave a Reply

    