My Favourite Go-to Chocolate Cupcakes

Hi everyone πŸ˜„ hope you’re all doing well 😊 I really want to thank everyone for all your amazing comments and fabulous feedback on my recipes that you’ve tried! I’m so happy you guys are enjoying them and please do continue tagging me with your pics, I love seeing your baked creations πŸ˜‰ tag @dutchbakerblog and hashtag me #dutchbakerblog on any one of my social media, Instagram, Facebook or Twitter. You guys are awesome! πŸ˜„

Chocolate cupcakes! πŸ˜„ Good ole’ moist, chocolate-y, fudgy, soft, rich, tender, down right freakin’ delicious, perfectly perfect chocolate cupcakes πŸ˜‚ okaaay that sounds weird but I’m not exaggerating, these are my all time favourite chocolate cupcakes and it’s the one I make whenever I need t satisfy my chocolate cravings. I’ve already shared my ever so popular super moist chocolate cupcakes and while I do love those too, they’re more on the light and cloud like cupcake, good for a creamy/fluffy frosting but these cuppies I’m sharing today are more than that for me. Yes those previous ones have that almost-wet- moistness, these are just as moist and delicious. I love today’s cupcakes because they are slightly more dense, which makes them perfect for any type of frosting or topping on earth! You can do chocolate, peanut butter, caramel (coming soon πŸ˜‰) and these cupcakes have enough structure to stand up to tons of frostings and flavours while still being super soft and tender with just the right amount of bite to them.

You may recognize the recipe a little if you’ve made my chocolate fudge cake (also a top post, we’re all just a bunch of chocoholics πŸ˜‚) as this recipe is based off of that one and what also makes my go to chocolate cake recipe which I’ll post soon too πŸ˜‰ ahh so many recipes I want to share! I’ll have them all up asap, promise ❀

The recipe is super simple using basic ingredients and can be whipped up in a jiffy. I use the reverse creaming method to make these cupcakes which basically just means that instead of creaming the butter and sugar together first then adding the rest of the ingredients, you start by adding the butter to all of the dry ingredients then add in the liquids in two addtions. This makes a soft melt-in-your-mouth texture and a beautiful crumb while keeping the cakes super moist and it’s a technique that makes sure you don’t overmix the cake batter, which is such a common issue for all types of cakes and bakes. 

The dairy I use here is sour cream which is my FAVOURITE for cakes especially chocolate because it keeps them soo moist but also very light. You can substitute with yoghurt, it works, but the cupcakes will be slightly more dense which isn’t a huge problem especially if you’re topping the cupcakes with all the frostings and toppings and things.

So here it is, my ultimate go to chocolate cupcake, enjoy πŸ˜„

Don’t forget to tag me @dutchbakerblog or hastag #dutchbakerblog on Instagram, Twitter or Facebook with your dutch baker bakes πŸ’™

My Favourite Chocolate Cupcake

Makes 14 – 15 cupcakes

Ingredients 

  • 3/4 cup (90gms) minus 1 tablespoon flour*
  • 1 tablespoon cornflour**
  • 1/2 cup (48gms) cocoa powder (good quality)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (100gms) white sugar
  • 1/4 cup (50gms) soft brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup (100gms) butter, cut into pieces
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 1/2 cup (125gms) sour cream

Chocolate frosting

  • 125 gms softened butter
  • 1/4 cup (24gms) + 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 3/4 cups icing sugar
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons cream
  • 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 170C. Line a muffin tray with cupcake cups.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and soda and salt. Add in the sugars and whisk until well combined. Add in the chopped butter and whisk until all the flour is moistened and mixture resembles coarse sand. (See pics below).
  3. Add in the eggs one at a time then the oil. The batter will be really thick. Whisk for about 1 minute until smooth and creamy.
  4. Add in the sour cream and vanilla extract and whisk for about 40 – 50 seconds until smooth. Batter will be thick and creamy.
  5. Spoon into cupcake cups filling each no more than halfway***. Bake for about 13 – 15 minutes until a toothpick comes out with a few moist crumbs or clean. Remove from cupcake tray and cool completely before frosting. My best cupcake trick is to cool the cupcakes for 10 – 15 minutes on a wire rack then store in an airtight container to continue cooling completely.

For the frosting

  1. Whisk butter for about 2 minutes until creamy. Add in the cocoa powder and whisk until smooth and combined.
  2. Add in the icing sugar and cream and whisk until combined. Whisk on high speed for 2 – 3 minutes until fluffy.
  3. Add in vanilla extract to taste.

Frost cooled cupcakes and top with chocolate shavings.

*Measure 3/4 cup/90gms flour then remove 1 tablespoon and continue with the recipe. This ensures the cupcakes have a lovely, light and soft crumb.

**Cornflour makes these cupcakes extra soft and I highly recommend it. You can leave it out if you cannot find it.

***These cupcakes rise alot so make sure not to over fill your cupcake cups. Don’t go over 2/3 full.

Recipe by the dutch baker.

This recipe uses the reverse creaming method. Once you’ve whisked the dry ingredients and sugars together, add the butter and whisk until mixture resembles coarse sand.

Once you’ve reached this stage, stop whisking and add the rest of the ingredients according to the recipe.

Check out my favourite vanilla cupcakes if vanilla is more your thing πŸ˜‰

10 thoughts on “My Favourite Go-to Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. This is incredible. I actually made your Dark Chocolate Cupcakes a couple days ago for my daughters birthday. They were so divine, and really were absolutely perfect. Sorry I didn’t even take a pic, but I will say that they were devoured and loved by all.
    Looking forward to making this recipe now as well. Thanks my friend for such great recipes always. Have a wonderful weekend. πŸ™‚ x

    Like

    1. Aww that’s amazing Lynne! I’m so happy you loved those cupcakes, they’re the best and such a show stopper πŸ˜„ I hope your daughter had a wonderful birthday πŸ˜™ these cupcakes are actually based off of those dark chocolate cupcakes, they’re the exact same recipe just without the melted chocolate πŸ˜‰ so they’re sort of milk chocolate ones πŸ˜„ thank you so much for the sweet comments and for trying my recipes πŸ’œ

      Like

  2. These look delicious and it’s quite funny, as I also made some cupcakes this week and used a bit of cornflour, simply because I ran out of regular flour. They came out so soft, I love it! I guess I will be using it more often! I will have to give these a go, I’m always ok the lookout for new chocolate cupcake recipes! πŸ™‚ x x x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

