Pita Bread (2 way)

Bread is one of those things that are quite life changing. I mean it is pretty much the most important base of our daily consumption, nobody and nothing can live withoutΒ it, and whenever you manage to create or make your own bread you just feel like a rock star πŸ˜„

Everyone who knows me or follows my blog knows my deep love for all bread. I spent nearly a whole year making and remaking all types of bread until I felt like I’ve perfected all the bread bases and feel confident enough to know how to make fresh bread from scratch and without a stand mixer to knead ;)πŸ˜„

These pitas were no exception. This was actually one of those recipes that I tried once and never looked back. I never tried another one and don’t think I will because this one is fabulous! πŸ™‚

I made these in 2 different ways. Half in the oven, all baked and puffy, and half in a non stick pan on the stove top. I loved both of them so I just make whatever way is convenient at the time πŸ˜„

These pitas are so easy and delicious, they’re sure to be a staple in your bread pantry πŸ˜„

Pita BreadΒ Β 

Stack on top of each other to flatten.

IngredientsΒ 

  • 3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon instant yeast
  • 1 1/4 cup warm water
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon oil

MethodΒ 

  1. Β  Add yeast to warm water with a pinch of sugar and rest for 5 minuted until thick. Add in the oil.
  2. Whisk flour and salt together and add to liquids in small incrementsΒ until a smooth, soft dough forms. Dough should be slightly sticky. KneadΒ for 10 – 15 minutes.
  3. Place in an oiled bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Rise for 1 1/2 – 2 hours until doubled in size.
  4. Roll dough into balls about the size of gold balls. Roll out intoΒ circles about 1/4 inch thick and 6 inches wide. Cover with kitchen towelΒ and rest for 10 minutes.
  5. Heat oven to 250C and bake for a few minutes on each side until puffy and golden.
  6. Alternatively, heat a non stick pan and place dough circles inside. Cover with lid and cook each side until puffy and golden.

Recipe adapted from Veg recipes of India.

10 thoughts on “Pita Bread (2 way)

  1. Ahh, the perfect recipe I have been looking for. Thank you! I would have never thought my favourite pita would be so easy to make. Isn’t it amazing how many things you can make with a flour-water and sometimes yeast variation!? πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

