How To Make Your Own Brown Sugar

Brown sugar is one of the most important things in my kitchen. I use it in so many recipes and in so many different ways, whether it’s for cakes or cupcakes, frostings or cookies and even different sauces.

There are many times when I find myself running out of soft brown sugar, light or dark, so this is a quick recipe I’ve learned to make to save me during those times when I need brown sugar 😊

First step is to measure out some plain white sugar. I’m using 1 cup of sugar here and pour on top 1 1/2 – 2 tablespoons molasses. You can add more molasses to make this a dark brown sugar or less to make it even lighter. I like the flavour and texture of 1 1/2 tablespoons πŸ˜‰

Stir the molasses into the sugar. I like to use the back of a spoon, I don’t know but I find it easiest that way 😊

Keep stirring until all the sugar is coasted and voila, brown sugar baby 😁

It’s really simple and fast to do, you guys must try!

Homemade Soft Brown SugarΒ 

Makes about 1 cup

IngredientsΒ 

  • 1 cup (200gms) white sugar
  • 1 1/2 – 2 tablespoons molasses, 2 – 4 tablespoons for dark brown sugar

MethodΒ 

  1. Add sugar to a bowl, pour the molasses on top.
  2. Stir mixture until all the sugar is coated with the molasses.

Store in an air tight container.

17 thoughts on “How To Make Your Own Brown Sugar

Leave a Reply

