Oreo Cupcakes With Milk Chocolate Frosting

Here we are already, I’m sharing the last recipe of the year πŸ™‚ can’t believe we’re here, this year has just gone by so fast!

It’s been a great baking year for me πŸ˜ƒ After years and years of searching for my ultimate recipes, trying and tweaking, having loads of kitchen failures, I’m super happy to have found my favourite cupcakes, like these and these, breads, rolls, cookies and brownies! πŸ˜‰ this one here is using my favourite buttery, yellow vanilla cupcake recipe. 

I topped it with a deliciously creamy and smooth milk chocolate frosting and crushed Oreos πŸ˜‰ you can also crush up some Oreos and fold some into the batter right before baking πŸ˜‰

These cupcakes use the reverse creaming method which is my favourite technique for cakes and cupcakes. You can frost these cuppies with any frosting of your choice, it’s so versatile I love it!

This is my go to chocolate frosting recipe, I use it on pretty much everything. You can add less or more cocoa powder to it until you get your desired chocolatey-ness πŸ˜‰

Buttery, vanilla-y and chocolate-y with a crunch of Oreos 😍 Delicious! πŸ˜‹

Oreo Cupcakes With Milk Chocolate Frosting

Makes 12 cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups (155gms) + 2 tablespoons flour
  • 2 tablespoons corn flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cups (180gms) sugar
  • 1/2 cup (100gms) softened butter cut into pieces
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup (120gms) sour cream 
  • Optional: crushed Oreos to fold into batter

Milk Chocolate Frosting

  • 125 gms softened butter
  • 4 – 6 tablespoons (24 – 40gms) cocoa powder
  • 1 3/4 cup icing sugar
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons cream or milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Crushed Oreos

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180C. Line a muffin tray with cupcake cups. 
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, cornflour, salt and sugar until well combined.
  3. Add the chopped butter and mix until all the flour is moistened and mixture resembles coarse sand. 
  4. Add in eggs one at a time whisking well between each addition. Whisk in oil and mix until batter is smooth. 
  5. Add in sour cream and vanilla and whisk until batter is smooth, creamy and fluffy. Fold in the chopped Oreos.
  6. Divide batter between cupcake cups and bake until cooked through, 15 – 20 minutes. Cool on a wire rack before frosting. 

For the frosting:

  1. Whisk butter until creamy, 1 – 2 minutes. Add icing sugar half cup at a time whisking between each addition.
  2. Whisk in cocoa powder to taste and cream until desired consistency is reached. Add in vanilla to taste. Frost cupcakes and top with crushed Oreos.
7 thoughts on “Oreo Cupcakes With Milk Chocolate Frosting

  1. This is exactly what I could devour right now. I am tempted to actually go and bake a batch right now, seriously !
    I have not stopped eating over this season, I am not complaining, it really feels so good πŸ™‚ Happy New year to you and yours my friend. I hope you have a wonderful and blessed 2017. ❀

    Like

    1. Aww I know EXACTLY how you feel Lynne, Ive been eating non stop too, my jeans don’t fit me anymore haha. Happy New Year to you and your family and loved ones my good friend ❀ I wish you the best and a year full of joy, peace and love ❀ God bless and thank you! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

