The Ultimate Super Moist Chocolate Cupcake

This recipe has been a long time coming πŸ˜‰ Oh yes it sure has! I’ve been searching high and low for the perfect, NO MIXER, extra moist and rich chocolate cupcake and after nearly a year and a half, I can finally say that these are the one πŸ˜‰

There are plenty of chocolate cupcake recipes out there but I was looking for something specific. I wanted an easy, extra moist, no mixer required recipe that was light yet chocolate-y and could be made using the simplest ingredients. I love that this recipe uses whipping cream so you know that the crumb will be extra soft πŸ˜‰

The batter is thin and creamy which produces an ultra soft and moist crumb with a slightly domed top, which is perfect for piling up your frosting πŸ™‚ 

And ohh this frosting…….. πŸ˜‰

While you can use any topping for these cupcakes, this frosting has no words! Smooth, fluffy, creamy and chocolate-y πŸ™‚ so deliciously luscious, a perfect compliment to the chocolate cupcake πŸ™‚

I actually made two batches of cupcakes with two different frostings, one is chocolate cream cheese and the other is a classic chocolate frosting. Both were very delicious so I’ve added the recipe for both below πŸ™‚

The recipe requires you to whisk the cocoa powder with boiling water before adding it to the batter. This technique is called blooming and what it does is bring out the chocolate flavour making the cupcakes extra rich πŸ™‚

I love that this recipe makes 12 perfectly rounded cupcakes πŸ™‚ I made these (picture below) the previous night and you can see how smooth the tops are. 

Moist, tender and rich, the perfect choice for a delicious chocolate cupcake πŸ™‚

Super Moist Chocolate Cupcakes

Makes 12 cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup (30 gms) cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup (118 mls) boiling water
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons (175 gms) sugar
  • 1/4 cup (60 gms) melted butter
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup (60 mls) whipping cream
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons (105 gms) flour 
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180C. Line a muffin tray with cupcake cups.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together cocoa powder and baking soda until well combined. Pour in boiling water and whisk well until mixture stops bubbling and is combined. Set aside to cool slightly.
  3. In a mixing bowl, whisk together melted butter, oil and sugar until incorporated. Add in egg and vanilla. Whisk well.
  4. Pour in the cooled chocolate mixture, whisk to combine then pour in the whipping cream. 
  5. Whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt and mix until well combined. Add this dry mix into the liquid batter and whisk until smooth and combined. 
  6. Divide batter between cupcake cups and bake until a toothpick (or knife) comes out clean or with a few moist crumbs. 
  7. Place onto wire rack and cool completely before frosting.

Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 1/2 cup  butter
  • 6 oz (3/4 cup) cream cheese
  • 2 cups icing sugar
  • 4 – 5 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Optional: pinch of salt

Method

  1. In a mixing bowl, whisk butter and cream cheese until combined and creamy.
  2. Add in icing sugar one cup at a time, whisking for about 30 seconds in between each.
  3. Whisk in cocoa powder adding more or less according to desired tastes.
  4. Add in vanilla extract and salt if using. Whisk frosting for about a minute on medium speed to make it extra fluffy.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

  • 10 tablespoons (125 gms) butter (I use 5 tablespoons salted and 5 tablespoons unsalted)
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups icing sugar
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Method

  1. Whisk butter for about a minute until creamy.
  2. Add in sifted icing sugar and cocoa powder. Whisk slowly until mixture is combined then increase speed and whisk for 2 – 3 minutes.
  3. Add in cream and whisk for another minute or two until fluffy.
  4. Add in vanilla to taste.
27 thoughts on “The Ultimate Super Moist Chocolate Cupcake

      1. Hii so sorry for the late reply, I’ve suddenly come down with a bad cold :/ No unfortunately I don’t live in Holland, I mainly only visit but mostly stay in Vienna whenever I come to Europe πŸ™‚ I wish I could ship you some cupcakes but Im sure they will melt! πŸ™‚ Im really loving your posts xx

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This is my kind of cupcake ! Chocolatey, moist and delicious πŸ™‚ The moment I saw, boiling water and oil, I just knew these would be a winner. I will be making these this weekend. Thanks for always sharing the most amazing recipes Linda. Have a lovely weekend. Hugs x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my gosh thank you so much for your kind words! πŸ™‚ yup when you see boiling water and oil you know you have something special πŸ™‚ I’ve actually made these cupcakes a few times using all oil instead of the melted butter and they’re fabulous too, but you really can’t deny the richness and flavour of butter πŸ˜‰ do let me know how they turn out with you. Have a beautiful weekend sweety xx big hugs πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Linda, if I wanted to convert the measurements to make this into a cake, what would you suggest? I’ll be blogging about chocolate cake this weekend and will happily credit your blog for the method. I don’t bake a lot, so I’d value any suggestions you can send my way. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi πŸ™‚ thank you so much, I’d appreciate that πŸ™‚ as for making these cupcakes into a cake, I would double the ingredients for a 2 layered 9 inch or 3 layer 8 inch cake. I must tell you though that I’ve not tried making this into a cake so I can’t tell you exactly 100% how it’ll be in cake form instead of cupcakes. Please do let me know how it turns out if you try! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Omg these look soooo good! I was already hungry but I could devour a cupcake now πŸ˜€ I really want to bake more, I’ll have to try this recipe! I really want to go on a baking haul, I saw in poundland that they have quite a lot of baking equipment and oh so cheap!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Holly 😊 sorry for the late reply, I only just saw your comment! These cupcakes are so delicious, they’re so light and chocolate-y 😍 you really should bake more if you can! Its so calming and rewarding πŸ˜„ let me know if you try these 😊 thanks for your sweet comment πŸ’›

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Bailey Ruffin

Leave a Reply

