The Ultimate Reeses Cake (And A Little About Me)

It’s my birthday today πŸ™‚ so when it came time to make my cake (I must be the one to make it of course πŸ˜‰ ), I knew that I’d be making a cake that revolves around peanut butter and chocolate and what better way is there than to incorporate Reeses Peanut Butter Cups into the mix! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Im so happy with how this cake turned out, there is a thick layer of peanut butter cream cheese filling sandwiched between two layers of ultra moist and delicious peanut butter cakes, topped with a creamy and rich dark chocolate frosting. I’ve been perfecting this recipe for years now adjusting and tweaking all parts of the cake, bit by bit πŸ™‚

The peanut butter cakes are made from the same recipe as these double peanut butter cupcakes. It’s a perfectly moist, slightly dense cake loaded with peanut butter flavour πŸ™‚ it took me ages to find a cake recipe where you can actually taste peanut butter! This recipe does just that πŸ™‚

I added an extra thick peanut butter cream cheese filling in the middle of the cake because this filling is one of the best fillings you’ll ever taste! πŸ™‚

I’ve made this cake frosted with both dark chocolate and fudge chocolate frostings, it works beautifully both ways πŸ™‚

I waited to share a few things about myself with you all πŸ™‚ just to get to know each other on a more personal level πŸ™‚

All me  β€

  1. I’m a true Libra, it’s super hard for me to choose just one thing, I have too many favourites!
  2. My favourite colour is blue but I love black too especially for clothing (except during the summer when I love wearing white πŸ™‚ )
  3. I love all animals, my family and I have many pets,  I grew up with a great half Labrador half Golden Retriever we called Tommy and a cat named Chance πŸ™‚ As well as my very own chocolate brown, floppy eared rabbit I called Charlotte.
  4. My favourite chocolate is Reeses cups (no surprise) and Kinder but during my childhood I was addicted to Bounty!
  5. My favourite scent is coconut and vanilla. I love scented candles too πŸ™‚
  6. I love to travel, the whole experience is so intriguing to me. I also love to drive and made sure to get my license as soon as the law permitted.
  7. My first car was a white Hyundai Sonata which was given to me as a gift from my parents πŸ™‚
  8. I’m a major nerd getting straight As in school and never missing classes. I loved Science and Geography but I did get into basketball for a while too.
  9. As a hobby I love LOVE to read! I can read pretty much anything, stories and novels, fiction or non fiction but I thoroughly enjoy murder mysteries. My favourite authors are Karin Slaughter, Lee Child, Robin Cook and of course Stephen King. Music is also a big part of my existence πŸ™‚ I love having music playing whenever there is a chance for it.
  10. Learning to bake is the best thing that’s ever happened to me πŸ™‚ I may just be a small blog/page but I’d rather be that knowing that you guys benefit and enjoy the recipes and posts I share than being big with just views and nobody making and enjoying my recipes πŸ™‚

Have a slice my friends πŸ™‚

Ultimate Reeses Cake

Makes one layered 8 or 9 inch cake or 24 cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (100 gms) butter
  • 3/4 cup soft brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/3 cups milk

For the filling (recipe can be halved)

  • 1 cup (8 oz) cream cheese
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the dark chocolate frosting

  • 1/4 cup + 1 tablespoon (60 gms) softened butter
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 cups icing sugar
  • 1/4 cup + 1 tablespoon whipping cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the ganache (optional)

  • 50 gms chopped chocolate (milk or semisweet)
  • 25 mls whipping cream

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160C. Grease and flour 2 round or square 8 inch cake tins.
  2. In a bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt until very well combined.
  3. In large mixing bowl, cream butter and both sugars until pale and fluffy. (Click here for a picture tutorial).
  4. Add in peanut butter and whisk well.
  5. Add in eggs one at a time whisking well between each addition. Whisk in vanilla.
  6. Whisk in flour mix and milk in alternating batches in 5 additions starting and ending with flour. Batter will be thick and smooth.
  7. Divide batter between cake tins and bake for 20 – 25 minutes until cooked through. Cool on wire rack before filling and frosting.

For the filling

  1. Whisk cream cheese and peanut butter together until combined and creamy.
  2. Add in icing sugar and milk. Whisk in vanilla to taste.

For the frosting

  1. Whisk butter until creamy about 1 – 2 minutes.
  2. Add in icing sugar and cocoa powder alternating with cream. Turn whisk to high and whisk until frosting is creamy and fluffy.
  3. Add in vanilla to taste. Whisk for another minutes on high to make the frosting extra fluffy.

For the ganache

  1. Combine chocolate and cream in a bowl and microwave for a few seconds just until the chocolate starts to melt.
  2. Whisk the ganache until all the chocolate has melted and is well combined. Set aside to cool slightly and thicken.

Click here for a milk chocolate frosting.

    Recipe adapted from Peanut Butter Lovers Cupcakes.

    31 thoughts on “The Ultimate Reeses Cake (And A Little About Me)

    Leave a Reply

    